Publication Date



Myricaceae; Pollen


Pollen of 16 species and one variety of the Myricaceae was examined, including members of each of the genera proposed by Chevalier (1901) in addition to Canacomyrica (Guillaumin, 1939). Comparison of pollen characters within genera, within sections, between sections, and between genera suggests that the Myricaceae can be divided into four genera: Canacomyrica; Comptonia; Gale; and Myrica. The genus Myrica can be further divided into three sections; Cerophora, Fava, and Morella.

First Page


Last Page


Included in

Plant Biology Commons



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.