## University of Minnesota Morris Digital Well University of Minnesota Morris Digital Well

Functions and Awards Committee (Inactive)

**Campus Governance** 

2-16-2016

## Functions and Awards minutes 02/16/2016

Functions and Awards

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.morris.umn.edu/fawards

## **Recommended Citation**

Functions and Awards, "Functions and Awards minutes 02/16/2016" (2016). *Functions and Awards Committee (Inactive)*. 1. https://digitalcommons.morris.umn.edu/fawards/1

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Campus Governance at University of Minnesota Morris Digital Well. It has been accepted for inclusion in Functions and Awards Committee (Inactive) by an authorized administrator of University of Minnesota Morris Digital Well. For more information, please contact skulann@morris.umn.edu.

## Meeting Minutes Functions and Awards Committee February 16, 2016

<u>Present:</u> Peter Bremer, Sam Daniewicz, Karen Ellis (ex-officio), Tom Johnson, Janel Kolden, Michael Lackey, Elena Machkasova (Chair), Alicia Schewe <u>Absent</u>: Amanda Roach

The meeting was called to order at 11:00 a.m. by Elena Machkasova. Karen Ellis volunteered to be note-taker.

1). Minutes from the November 13, 2015 meeting were distributed and unanimously approved (with the noted correction that the meeting occurred in 2015 – rather than 2016).

2). Motion to include summaries of campus e-mail discussions about the Faculty Distinguished Research Award in the Digital Well; unanimously approved.

3). Motion to include summaries of campus e-mail discussions about changes to the Scholar of the College Award in the Digital Well; unanimously approved.

3). The Chair shared copies of the proposed changes to the Student Sustainability Award, as proposed by Troy Goodnough. The changes are designed to allow for recognition of students with outstanding contributions to sustainability at the Honors and Awards ceremony, while keeping the award inclusive for multiple students. Summary of changes:

- There are two levels of the award: Morris Student Sustainability Champion (MSSC) and Morris Student Sustainability Leader (MSSL).
- Any number of graduating seniors may be awarded the MSSC award. Out of these students, up to two students with exceptional accomplishments and contributions will be chosen to receive the MSSL award.
- The MSSC awardees will be recognized at the Senior Awards Banquet.
- The MSSL awardees will be recognized in person at the Honors and Awards ceremony.

These changes were shared with Bart Finzel, who approves. The committee discussed the distinction between the terms "Champion" and "Leader." Karen Ellis suggested an earlier nomination/selection date to coincide with the deadline for printed program information (March 29). Motion to approve the award changes as presented; unanimously approved.

4). The Chair shared the proposal from the Multiethnic Experience Committee (MEC) for the new Bill and Ida Stewart Award for Ethnic Diversity. The MEC has discussed the award with the Chancellor, who is supportive. Elena also met with the MEC to learn more about the award intent and criteria which "recognizes faculty, staff and students who have displayed exemplary service on our campus in support of promoting ethnic diversity and a supportive climate for all people." Full-time students, tenured and tenure-track faculty, and PA and USA staff (who have been at UMM for at least three years) may be nominated (see the full award description for criteria and nomination process). A description of Bill and Ida Stewart's work at UMM will be included with the award description.

Elena noted the difference between this award and the Cesar Chavez Award (awarded by Voces Unidas, a student organization) is that the Stewart Award is institutional, recognizes only work within the UMM community, and is focused specifically on diversity. (The Chavez Award is community-based and recognizes work that may be done outside of UMM, and also includes civil rights issues and a broad

range of community/social outreach). Elena will communicate with Voces Unidas about the Stewart Award.

The committee suggested that the dossier guidelines be changed to include "**two** supporting letters, a minimum of at least one from UMM" and that the proposed submission/selection deadlines ofMarch 25 and early April be moved up to coincide with the deadlines for printed program information (submission by March 11, the selection of the awardees March 29). Suggestions were made to specify in the description of Bill and Ida Stewart about their roles and years at UMM. Additional clarification from the Dean is needed on the where/how the student winner of the award is recognized..

5). The committee discussed the three nominations for the 2015-16 University of Minnesota Morris Alumni Association Teaching Award. The Chair noted that all were excellent. Members shared their perceptions of the nominations and initial rankings. Initial ranking was used to narrow the list down to two candidates; the discussion of the top two candidates followed. The Chair then called for a vote on the top two candidates; Heather J. Peters, associate professor of psychology, was selected as award recipient by a vote of 4 to 1. (One member chose to abstain, the Chair chose to abstain to avoid a possibility of a tie). The Chair will share the results with the Dean, Heather Peters, and the other nominated faculty and their nominators.

6). Motion to adjourn; unanimously approved.

The next Functions and Awards Committee meeting is scheduled for Friday, February 26 @ 4:00 p.m.

Submitted by Karen Ellis